For Trainees: Should I 'Retake' or 'Review' the Course/Module?
As a Trainee, there are a few different scenarios that would potentially require you to press one of two buttons on your trainee dashboard: 'Retake' or 'Review'. In this article, we'll go over each of these buttons in more depth so you know which action is the right action to take! Note: both of these buttons will only appear once the course or module has been completed. The retake button will only appear if the trainer has enabled a trainee to retake the course or module from the course settings.
Review a Course or Module
From your trainee dashboard, click on a course you've already completed and you will see the information on the course as well as some additional information if your trainer has selected them available to you: course certificates, the ability to review the course, the trainer's email address, and the ability to retake the course. For now, we're going to focus on the 'Review Course' button.
Clicking the 'Review Course' button will take you to the beginning of the course content and allow you to go through the entire course again and see your answers to any quizzes or surveys that were part of this course. It will also allow you to fast-forward through any videos, narrations, or animations since you've already completed the course. You will not have to answer any quiz questions or surveys again, but it will show you the answers you submitted previously.
Reviewing a module or course does not change the trainee status on the module or course, but purely enables you to review the material! A great way to freshen up on all the concepts you learned in the training. Note: To review an individual module within a course, click into the module (below the course name on your course list with a check mark next to it) and then click 'Review Module'.
Retake a Course or Module
Most likely, your trainer has set certain expectations on the modules and courses you need to complete. If you don't meet those expectations, the system will notify you that you have failed the module or course. If the trainer has allowed trainees to retake individual modules within the course or the entire course, then you will see a retake button. Note: Retaking the module or course starts you from the beginning and your previous record will not be saved. You will have to retake the entire course by clicking through all the slides and completing any quizzes or surveys that are included.
Retaking the Entire Course:
Go to your trainee dashboard, head to your Completed courses list, and click on the name of the course you'd like to retake. You will see the retake button next to the course certificate (if enabled).
A confirmation page will appear: press 'Retake' to confirm you want to start the course over from the beginning and move from a Completed status to Invited.
Once you've selected 'Retake', you will be entered into the course content. Move your way through the course again and improve on your prior score! If you don't complete the course in this attempt and you go back to your trainee dashboard, you will notice the course has moved from your Completed list to your Invited list of courses.
Retaking an Individual Module within the Course:
Go to your trainee dashboard, head to your Completed courses list, and click on the name of the course you'd like to retake. The name of each module within the course will appear under the course name with checkboxes next to them. Select the module you'd like to retake and you'll see the module information appear to the right.
A confirmation page will appear: press 'Retake' to confirm you want to start the module over from the beginning and move from a Completed status to Invited.
Once you've selected 'Retake', you will be entered into the module content. Move your way through the module again and improve on your prior score! If you don't complete the module in this attempt and you go back to your trainee dashboard, you will notice the course has moved from your Completed list to your Invited list of courses.